How many times have India won the ODI World Cup?

Sonali Saha
4 Min Read

In the grand theater of the ODI World Cup, India’s journey in the World Cup has been a tale of triumphs and heartaches, marked by unforgettable moments and legendary players. Let’s take a thrilling ride through India’s ODI World Cup history.

The year was 1975, and India made its maiden appearance in the ODI World Cup, held in England, featuring a 60-over format. Led by Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan, India couldn’t make it past the first round, with two losses and a solitary win. Sunil Gavaskar’s stoic 36 off 174 balls in the opening match at Lord’s remains a talking point today!

Join Now
Whatsapp Group
Whatsapp Channel
Telegram channel

1979 was no different. Once again, India’s World Cup dreams were dashed, exiting the tournament in the group stage with three losses. But then came 1983, a year etched in the memories of cricket fans worldwide.

Kapil Dev took the reins as captain, leading a team that defied the odds and silenced doubters. Placed in Group B with defending champions West Indies, Australia, and Zimbabwe, India emerged triumphant. Four wins and two losses propelled them past the initial hurdle.

The semi-final clash against England at Old Trafford in Manchester was pure drama. India overcame the hosts by six wickets, setting the stage for a historic final against the formidable West Indies. Battling their way to 183, India’s bowlers performed magic, dismissing the Windies for 140. Lord’s in London witnessed history as India clinched its first ODI World Cup, with Mohinder Amarnath’s all-around brilliance earning him the Player of the Match title.

1987 held promise, but India faltered in the semi-finals, and the cup remained elusive. A new format was introduced in 1992, hosted by Australia and New Zealand. India, however, met with a premature exit, with just two wins.

1996 brought hope as India reached the semi-finals, but they couldn’t overcome eventual champions Sri Lanka at Eden Gardens in Calcutta (now Kolkata). The Super Sixes stage was the best they could achieve in 1999.

Then came 2003, hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya. India’s journey to the final was captivating, but they fell short once again, losing to Australia at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. Sachin Tendulkar’s 673 runs in the tournament set a record that still stands, and he was named the Player of the Tournament.

Amid ups and downs, India rose to glory in 2011 while playing on home turf. They lost just one match en route to the final against Sri Lanka at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Gautam Gambhir and MS Dhoni’s masterclass saw them chase down 274 to lift the cup, with Dhoni’s unforgettable six.

Sachin Tendulkar’s 482 runs in 2011 made him the all-time top run-scorer in World Cup history. His legacy in the tournament now stands at 2,278 runs.

But the ODI World Cups have also been bitter disappointments. Despite being favorites in 2015 and 2019, India couldn’t make it past the semi-finals. Rohit Sharma’s 648 runs in 2019 were a shining light in an otherwise gloomy campaign.

India’s ODI World Cup history is a rollercoaster of emotions, filled with iconic moments, legends, and dreams that continue to ignite the passion of cricket fans around the world.

Share This Article
Hi, my name is Sonali, I am a content writer specializing in the topics of Relationships, Travel, News, Bollywood, and More.
Leave a comment